Kashmir Editors Guild (KEG) elected its new body Monday during formal election that was held under the supervision of senior journalist Yusuf Jameel.

Fayaz Ahmad Kaloo (KL Image)

The election for the five positions – President, Vice President (Urdu), Vice President (English), General Secretary and Treasurer were held at The Kashmir Monitor Office and was attended by all the members.

Senior journalist, Yusuf Jameel supervised over the process as Returning Officer.

Fayaz Ahmad Kaloo, Chief Editor Greater Kashmir was elected KEG President with Bashir Ahmad Bashir (Srinagar Times) and Sajjad Haider (Kashmir Observer) as Vice-Presidents.

Bashir Manzar (Kashmir Images) was elected as General Secretary while as Haroon Rashid Shah (Nidai-Mashriq) was elected Treasurer.

Bashir Manzar (KL Image)

Executive members of the Guild include Ghulam Geelani Qadri (Afaaq), Zahoor Hashmi (Aftab), Tahir Mohiudin (Chattan), Masood Hussain (Kashmir Life), Shamim Mehraj (Kashmir Monitor), Shujaat Bukhari (Rising Kashmir), Manzoor Unjum, (Uqab), Zahoor Ahmad Malik (Kashmir Times) and Raja Mohiuddin (Tameel-e-Irshad) and Shafat Kirra (Kashmir Vision).

It is pertinent to mention here that Kashmir Editors Guild was formed last year and an adhoc body was formed on December 14, 2016 with a commitment that formal elections would be held as soon as possible.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here