LAHDC Polls: BJP Wins One Seat, So Far; Leading on Others



Ruling coalition partner and right wing Hindu nationalist Bhartiya Janta Party (BJP) is leading as the counting of votes started for 13 constituencies of LAHDC, Leh.

As per the results so far, BJP has won Temisgam constituency, while leading on Phyang, Thiksay, Upper-Leh, Sku-Markha, Basgo, Saspol and others.

National Conference is leading on Lower-Leh, while an Independent is leading on Chuchot constituency.

The polls conducted on October 17 saw around 65.17 percent votes to elect 26 new councillors from 90 candidates. Congress, BJP, NC, PDP and New Ladakh Movement candidates are in fray besides the independent candidates.

BJP and Congress had fielded candidates on 25 seats, while PDP, which is making efforts to set their foot in the cold desert, and NC are contesting on eight seats each.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here