Lethpora Attack Fallout: Govt withdraws Hurriyat security


In a major decision by the government, the authorities have decided to withdraw the security cover from the separatists of Jammu and Kashmir.

A picture for representation

The five separatist leaders whose security cover and other facilities like vehicles have been withdrawn include Mirwaiz Umar Farooq, Professor Gani Bhat, Shabir Shah, Hashim Qureshi and Bilal Lone.

All security and vehicles provided to them will stand withdrawn by today evening, the media reports claimed on Sunday.

Earlier on Friday, after chairing a high-level security review meeting, the Home Minister Rajnath Singh said it has been decided that the security cover to the separatist leaders should be reviewed.

“There are elements and forces who take money from Pakistan and the ISI. I have asked the officials concerned to review their security,” Singh told media reporters at the end of his day-long visit to Kashmir.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here