LG Sinha Joins Harishchandra Tyagi Library’s Silver Jubilee


SRINAGAR: Lieutenant Governor Manoj Sinha attended the 25th-anniversary celebration of the Harishchandra Tyagi Public Library in Ghaziabad on Friday.

In his address, the Lt Governor congratulated the individuals associated with the Harishchandra Tyagi Public Library on this special occasion. He acknowledged the library’s significant role as a source of education and intellectual inspiration for the local community, catering to all age groups, with a particular focus on the youth.

Addressing the emergence of digital technology and Artificial Intelligence, Sinha emphasised that libraries would continue to be an invaluable source of knowledge.

“The relevance and growth of public libraries will persist in the digital age because they serve not only as repositories of knowledge, research, new ideas, and perspectives but also foster a sense of community and promote inclusiveness,” remarked Sinha.

During the ceremony, the Lt Governor also highlighted the efforts of the J&K Administration to enhance access to libraries for the people of Jammu and Kashmir.

“We have undertaken dedicated efforts to establish libraries in districts like Anantnag, Pulwama, Shopian, and small towns within the Union Territory, transforming them into e-learning and counseling centres. Today, 3.5 crore e-books are available to our youth through these centres,” he added.

Sinha mentioned the transformation of Bandipora’s Aragam Village into the country’s first book village. Additionally, he noted the establishment of a cultural centre with a museum and library dedicated to the Dard-Shin tribal community along the Line of Control in Gurez.

On this occasion, the Lt Governor inaugurated a Book Bank within the Harishchandra Tyagi Public Library. This initiative will offer free books on various subjects to students throughout the academic year.

Furthermore, a souvenir publication depicting the library’s 25-year journey was released.

Distinguished guests present at the event included Dr Anil Agrawal, Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha; Sunita Dayal, Mayor of Ghaziabad Municipal Corporation; Dr Dinesh Arora, Chairman of Yashoda Super Speciality Hospitals; Baleshwar Tyagi, Custodian of Harishchandra Tyagi Public Library, along with other dignitaries.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here