Lok Sabha Polling started in Kulgam


Amid unprecedented security, polling started on Monday for the second phase of the three-phased Anantnag Lok Sabha seat.

Polling began at 7 a.m. and will end at 4 p.m.

An official said that heavy deployment of the Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) and state police has been made to secure the polling stations and provide safety to the voters.

He said that mobile Internet facility and train services have been suspended for the day as a precautionary measure.

Very few people were seen at the polling stations set up for 344244 electorates in four polling segments of Noorabad, Kulgam Homshalibug and Devsar of the district Kulgam.

Mehbooba Mufti, the Peoples Democratic Party President, Ghulam Ahmed Mir, state President of the Congress, Justice (Retired) Hasnain Masoodi of the National Conference, Sofi Yusuf of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Chowdhury Zafar Ali of the People’s Conference, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Gh Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents. are in the fray in this constituency.

Kulgam Assembly segment has the highest number of 98,298 voters (51,051 males, 46,818 females, 455 service voters and 4 transgender voters) while as Noorabad has the lowest 77,171 electors, including 40,093 males, 36,886 females, 188 service voters and 4 transgender voters.

Assembly segment of Devsar has 91288 voters (47467 males, 43324 females, 492 service voters and five transgender voters), and HS Bugh segment has 78669 voters (40996 males, 37576 females and 127 service voters).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here