LS Polls: Kulgam district records 2.8% voting till 10 am


As the polling for the second phase of the three-phase elections for Anantnag Lok Sabha seat is underway in Kulgam district on Monday, the Noorabad assembly segment reordered the highest turnout till 10:00 am and the overall percentage in the Kulgam district was recorded 2.8%  till 10 am.

As many as 4509 (5.9%) people cast the vote in Noorabad, 4459 (4.9%) people cast vote in Devsar, 528 (0.5%) people cast vote in Kulgam and only 292 (0.4%) people cast vote in Homeshalibugh assembly segment.

Kulgam Assembly segment has the highest number of 98,298 voters (51,051 males, 46,818 females, 455 service voters and 4 transgender voters) while as Noorabad has the lowest 77,171 electors, including 40,093 males, 36,886 females, 188 service voters and 4 transgender voters.

Assembly segment of Devsar has 91288 voters (47467 males, 43324 females, 492 service voters and five transgender voters), and HS Bugh segment has 78669 voters (40996 males, 37576 females and 127 service voters).

The candidates in the fray are Mehbooba Mufti, the Peoples Democratic Party President, Ghulam Ahmed Mir, state President of the Congress, Justice (Retired) Hasnain Masoodi of the National Conference, Sofi Yusuf of the Bharatiya Janata Party, Chowdhury Zafar Ali of the People’s Conference, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Gh Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here