LS Polls: PDP supporters thrash NC polling agent in Bijbehara


In a bizarre incident reported from south Kashmir’s Bijbehara during the 3rd phase of Lok Sabha Election, the supports of Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) allegedly thrashed a National Conference (NC) polling agent at Bejbehara.

According to a report by news agency ANI, the NC agent was thrashed after they observed bogus voting. “Jammu & Kashmir: Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) supporters thrash a National Conference (NC) polling agent at Bijbehara polling station of Anantnag district, alleging bogus voting. #LokSabhaElections2019,” ANI tweeted.

Reports said that the clash ended after forces personnel stationed at the booth intervened.

Pertinently, a cold response of votes is being witnessed in PDP president Mehbooba Mufti’s hometown Bijbehara.  The total votes cast in the town were 1589, with the percentage of 1.7.

According to officials the overall turnout up to 3 pm was 11.7 %. As many as 16099 (18.6 percent) people cast the vote in Pahalgam, 16249 (17.3 percent) in Kokernag, Dooru 11327  (16.9 percent),Shangus  11780 (13.3 percent), Anantnag 2520 (2.9 percent), and Bijbehara 1589 (1.7 percent).

The Anantnag district has 529256 electors including 269603 males, 257540 females, 2102 service electors (2091 male and 11 female) and 11 transgender voters. For smooth polling, the ECI has set up 714 polling stations in the district.

The candidates in the fray are Hasnain Masoodi of Jammu Kashmir National Conference, Sofi Yousuf of Bhartiya Janta Party, Ghulam Ahmad Mir of Indian National Congress, Mehbooba Mufti of Jammu Kashmir People’s Democratic Party, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, Ch. Zaffar Ali of Jammu Kashmir People’s Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Gh Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents.

Kokernag Assembly segment has the highest number of 93874 voters (48742 males, 44948 females and 180 service voters) while as Dooru has the lowest 79029 electors, including 40764 males, 37889 females and 374 service voters.

Assembly segment of Bijbehara has 93516 voters (47067 males, 46222 females and 227 service voters), Shangus 89405 voters (45360 males, 43010 females and 1031 service voters), Pahalgam 86735 (44115 males, 42498 females and 121 service voters) and Anantnag 86699 (43555 males, 42973 females and 169 service voters).

Bijbehara assembly segment has the highest number of 46225 female voters whereas Shangus has a total of 1031 service electors which are highest in the district.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here