NGOs have no role in PMSSS: Govt; Announces Registration for PMSSS



The Union Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD) has started online registration for grant of Prime Minister’s Special Scholarship (PMSSS) for the year 2015-16 to the students from Jammu and Kashmir. During the current financial year, 5000 scholarships are to be granted to the students from J&K under the scheme for undergraduate courses.

According to a notification issued by the J&K’s Higher Education Department, the interested students fulfilling the eligibility criteria can apply for the scholarship online on http://

The online application and document verification has started from 13 June 2015 and will close on 28 June 2015 at 17.00 hrs, an official statement said.

The Department has cautioned the students that NGOs have no role in PMSSS and they should not approach any NGO for admission under the scheme, it emphasized.

Pertinently, Prime Minister Narendra Modi while reviewing the progress of PMSSS, through video-conference, with the JK Chief Secretary on 27 May 2015 called for legal action against NGOs involved in duping students from J&K enrolled in various colleges outside the State under the Special Scholarship Scheme.

As per the notification, the aspiring students must be a domicile of J&K and should have passed 12th class or equivalent examination from State Board or Central Board affiliated school located in the State. The family income from all sources for the financial year 2014-15 must be less than Rs 6 Lakh per annum.

In addition to online registration, the J&K Government has also established Facilitation Centres at various colleges within the State for completion of formalities by the students.

Facilitation Centres for Kashmir provice include SP College, Srinagar,      GDC Sopore, GDC Kupwara,        GDC Boys Baramulla, GDC Dooru, GDC Ganderbal, GDC Budgam, GDC Bijbehara     , GDC Pattan, GDC Shopian, GDC Pulwama, GDC Chrar-e-Sharief, GDC Tral, GDC Boys Anantnag,    GDC Leh, GDC Kargil, Women’s College MA Road, Srinagar, GDC Kulgam and GDC Bandipora.

The facilitation Centres in Jammu include GGM Science College Jammu, Women’s College Gandhi Nagar, Jammu, GDC Boys Kathua, GDC Bani, GDC Boys Udhampur, GDC Rajouri,  GDC Poonch, GDC Reasi, GDC Doda, GDC Ramban, GDC Banihal, GDC Bhaderwah, GDC Kishwar, GDC Marwah,   GDC Samba, GDC RS Pura, Jammu, GDC Budhal  and GDC Mendhar.

Aspiring students have been asked to visit the Facilitation Centres from 15-6-2015 to 28-06-2015 between 10 am to 5 pm for completion of formalities, the statement informed.

Pertinently, a student selected under the scheme would be entitled to a scholarship of up to Rs 30,000 per annum for tuition fees for general degree courses, up to Rs 1.25 Lakh per annum for engineering course and up to Rs 3 Lakh per annum for medical studies.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here