Public Representatives demand District status for Zanskar


KL Report


A team of public representatives of Kargil District led by Legislator and Advisor to the Chief Minister, Qamar Ali Akhoon and comprising Minister of State for IT and MLA Zanskar, Feroz Ahmad Khan and MLC Kargil, Syed Ahmad Rizvi in a memorandum presented to Cabinet Sub-Committee on creation of new administrative units in the State, demanded District status to Zanskar Sub-Division, Sub-Division status for Shakarchiktan, Tehsil status for Taisuroo and Shergole, and Niyabat status for TSG Block.

They said that Mushtaq Ganai Committee has reportedly recommended Sub-Division status to Sankoo, Tehsil status to Shakarchiktan and Drass, Niyabat status to Lungnak Zanskar, Taisuroo and Shergole besides CD Block to Sodh.

Justifying the demand the Committee drew home the need for creation of District Zanskar, Sub-Division Shakarchiktan, Tehsils of Taisuroo and Shergole besides Niyabat for TSG Block, and CD Block to Barsoo Nalla, Stooth Zanskar and bifurcation of Drass Block and said that the difficult terrain and geographical position of Kargil District besides remoteness of the areas necessitate the creation of these administrative units to reach out the people amicably for development needs and delivery of governance smoothly.

 Akhoon said that creation of these administrative units has been the long cherished desire of people living in far-flung and remote areas. He expressed confidence that the Cabinet Sub-Committee keeping in view the backwardness and adverse geographical conditions of Kargil District would accommodate the demand and fulfil the desire of the people of Kargil.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here