Ramban Accident: Govt constitutes Inquiry Committee


The Government today constituted a 5-Member Committee to conduct an in-depth inquiry into the October 6 tragic accident near KelaMorh on Srinagar-Jammu highway in district Ramban in which 22 precious human lives were lost.

According to an order issued by the Principal Secretary to the Government Transport Department, Dr Asgar Hassan Samoon, the Committee comprises Deputy Commissioners of Udhampur and Ramban, SSP Ramban, Regional Transport Officer Jammu, and Project Director, National Highway Authority of India (NHAI) Jammu.

The Committee, according to the order, shall look int the reasons for the accident, fix responsibility, if any, on official agencies, measures to be taken to prevent recurrence of such accidents on national highway and in Doda and Kishtwar including the measures for providing medical aid and evacuation in the event of accident and general suggestions for regulating traffic to ensure smooth movement on the highway in view of the ensuing fruit season and weather disruptions during the winter season.

The Committee shall submit the detailed report within 7 days.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here