Shafi Uri wins Uri

KL Report


The seasoned NC leader from Uri, Mohammad Shafi Uri has won Uri for the sixth time defeating his closest rival PDP’s Raja Aijaz Khan by 5792 votes.

Since 1957, this northern fringe seat has been NC bastion winning 6 out of last 10 elections. Shafi Uri had previously won the seat for five consecutive terms from 1972 to 1996. But Taj defeated Shafi in the last two elections. Taj defeated Shafi in 2008 with 1,879 votes. (Taj polled 24036 against Uri’s 22157 votes; while as PDP’s Shabir Ahmad Mangral stood third with 1550 votes.)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here