Speaker conveys gratitude to Members, Media, others for smooth conduct of budget session

KL Report


The Speaker, Jammu and Kashmir Legislative Assembly, Kavinder Gupta, Thursday expressed gratitude to the Members of the House for their cooperation in ensuring smooth conduct of the Assembly proceedings.

According to a statement issued to KNS, Speaking at the conclusion of the Budget Session here this afternoon, Gupta also thanked the print and electronic media, Information Department for providing adequate coverage to the Assembly proceedings.

He also appreciated the efforts put in by the staff of the Assembly Secretariat during the session for working day in and day out for preparing replies as well as responses to the questions of the members. He also expressed gratitude to all the departments who were associated with the proceedings of the House during the entire session.

Giving details of the business conducted during the session, Kavinder Gupta said the session consisted of 17 working days consuming 80 hours and 28 minutes. He said out of the total time, NC was allotted 8 hours and 45 minutes, Indian National Congress 8 hours and 31 minutes,  PDP  6 hours and 11 minutes, BJP 6 hours and 43 minutes, People’s Conference 50 minutes, CPI (M) 1 hour and 18 minutes and others 53 minutes.

Gupta said out of 1054 questions, 592 were starred, 462 were Un-starred, 114 were taken up and 298 supplementary questions were raised during the session. He said during Zero Hour 203 points of public importance were raised, 6 Government Bills were introduced and passed. He said 7 Private Members Bills were taken up and 2 introduced, 110 Calling Attention Notices were received, out of which 46 were taken up,  besides 85 Private Members Resolutions were received, 82 were admitted, 3 disallowed, 14 balloted for being taken up and 2 were taken up in the House. He further said that 810 Cut Motions were received, out of which 711 were listed and 99 were disallowed. He said 9 papers were also tabled in the House.

Earlier, several Members including Deputy Speaker, Nazir Ahmed Gurezi, Mohammad Shafi Uri, Nawang Rigzin Jora, Er. Abdul Rashid, M.Y. Tarigami, Adv. Bashir Ahmed Dar, Ajay Nanda spoke on the concluding day of the session and appreciated the Speaker for giving ample opportunities to the members to highlight and project the problems of the people of their respective areas.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here