SPM GMC Srinagar Hosts IAPSM Conference




The Department of Community Medicine (SPM ) Government Medical College, Srinagar, Kashmir J&K  hosted two-day 19th North Zone Indian Association of Preventive & Social Medicine Conference (NZIAPSMCON2015) on 9th & 10th October at Government Medical College Srinagar on the main theme of Emerging & Re Emerging Diseases: The Public Health Challenge In 21st Century, with emphasis on newer diseases like H1N1, Hepatitis, SARS and on health informatics.  Around 250 national delegates attended and guest speakers of National and international repute delivered lectures. Around 85 scientific research papers were presented which include Vasudeva Oration by Prof. MS Punia, guest lectures, best papers, free oral papers and posters.

The technical sessions were conducted at Government Medical College, Srinagar while inaugural function was held at SKICC on 9th October at 6:30 pm with vice-chancellor Kashmir Univeristy, Prof Khurshid Iqbal Andrabi as chief guest. Prof Andrabi emphasized on greater and wider role of social & preventive medicine in health promotion and disease prevention while taking cue from the western world, a statement by the association said Saturday evening.

Prominent scientists including Dr Narendra K Arora Executive Director INCLEN, Chairman National AEFI Committee, Chairperson National Committee for Certification of Polio Eradication and Dr Jai P Narain former director, communicable diseases, World Health Organization (SEARO), Prof Parvaiz Koul of SKIMS, Prof Shaukat Kadla f GMC Srinagar, Prof Anmol Gupta from HP, Dr Iqbal, Epidemiologist Kashmir and Dr Shahnawaz Mir, endocrinologist, Surbhi Kaul of Health Informatics India delivered guest lectures while special sessions on communication skills and PG quiz were conducted. The conference was accredited by J&K State Medical Council with 8-CME Credit Hours.

During the general council meeting, Dr. S. Muhammad Salim Khan, HOD Community Medicine GMC Srinagar and organizing secretary NZIAPSMCON 2015 was elected as president of north-zone of IAPSM for 2016-17.

The valedictory function was presided over by Dr Rafiq Ahmad Pampori, principal GMC Srinagar with Prof Mohan Doibale, national president, IAPSM, Prof MS Punia, president NZIAPSM, Prof Anmol Gupta, secretary NZIAPSM, Prof Muneer Ahmad Masoodi, organizing secretary NZIAPMCON and attended by galaxy of doctors and medical scientists.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here