1,08,412 Reserved Categories Employees Working in Govt Departments, RBAs top Job List



More than one lac employees belonging to reserved categories are working in different government departments in the state, with Residents of Backward Areas (RBA) topping the list. These employees are working in 41 departments up to the level of deputy secretaries in the state.

Chief Minister Ms Mehbooba Mufti, who is In-charge of General Administration Department, said in the Lower House that 1, 08,412 employees of reserved categories are serving in 41 government departments.

Mehbooba, replying to a written un-starred question of Congress MLA from Surankote, Choudhary Muhammad Akram, said that in RBA category 46270 employees are working in the 41 departments.

RBA is followed by Scheduled Tribe with 34721, Scheduled Caste 17350, 5369 on Actual Line of Control (ALC) and 4702 on Other Scheduled Caste categories, she said.

Mehbooba said that education department has highest number of government employees from the categories, as 42993 employees are serving in the state.

Seconding the list, Home Department has 17831 employees. Ladakh Affairs department is in the third slot, with 11904 employees from these categories.

However, the State Women’s Commission and Information technology have no employee from these categories, while Civil Aviation has only two employees, and Relief and Rehabilitation has only seven.

The figures revealed by the chief minister say that 1188 employees are working in Agriculture Production department, 71 in ARI and Trainings, 2820 in Animal/Sheep Husbandry, 507 in Consumer Affairs and Public Distribution, Cooperatives has 117, Culture 112 and Estates has 83.

42 employees are working in Election department, 1292 in Finance, Forest 2760, Floriculture, BPE 466, GAD (Estt Section) 257, GAD (Service Selection) 299, Higher education 578, Housing and Urban 30, Health and Medical education 5190.

Departments including Hospitality and Protocol, Horticulture, Information, Industries and Commerce, Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs, Labour and Employment, Public Works, Power Development, Planning departments have 30, 653, 128, 1151, 75, 11904, 75, 1736, 3841 and 614 respectively.

The chief minister said that 3611 reserved category employees are working in PHE and IFC departments, 1336 in Rural Development, 3569 in Revenue, 20 in Science and Technology, 824 in Social Welfare, 283 in Tourism, 1408 in Technical Education and Youth Service and Sports, 345 in Transport and 164 in Tribal Affairs. (KNS)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here