India cricket team has recorded the most consecutive Test series win on home ground. From February 2013 to the present time, they have won 14 consecutive Test series. Test matches are loved by all Indian cricket fans. At the same time, punters also love betting on test matches due to the large market that is available. As the test match goes on for 5 consecutive days, it is the reason popular betting sites, like Bet365, have seen a large influx of customers during the Indian New Zealand Test series. Cricket experts also predicted India as the favorites to win the series.

Team India was successful in defeating New Zealand in the second, as well as final Test match at the Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai on 6th December. On day 4, Virat Kohli and his team required 5 more wickets to win the Test series. But India did not want to waste any time. So, they wrapped up the game within a session and sent New Zealand back to the pavilion with 167 in their race for 540. So, India was able to win the Mumbai test by 372 runs.

India has chosen to bat first. Mayank Agarwal’s 150 led to a total run of 325 all-out. In response to this, New Zealand likes nine pins for 62. They had a first-innings lead to India. Then, India declared the second innings for 276-7 and was able to dismiss the opponents for 167 to win the series.

The Highlights of India’s 14th Consecutive Test Series

On day 4, India was able to demolish New Zealand by a stunning 372 runs to win the two-match Test series 1-0. It was after the first draw match in Kanpur. The Test series is the first assignment for Rahul Dravid as the coach. This game saw some incredible performance from emerging players.

Shreyas Iyer made his debut in Kanpur. He gave an amazing performance against Kiwi’s bowling attack. In the first innings, he scored a hundred, and it was followed up with a vital 65 in the second innings in the middle order. So, Iyer was able to steer Indians out of trouble.

It was KL Rahul’s injury that gave Shreyas a chance in the playing XI for the first Test and he took the opportunity to become the Indian player to score a fifty and a century in two innings in the debut Test.

On the 5th day of the Kanpur Test, India has to take 6 wickets in the last session to finish the match. However, newbies, such as Ajaz Patel and Rachin Ravindra forged a match and saved the last-wicket stand, which survived 9 overs against a top-quality Indian spin attack to draw the match.

In the first Test, Mayank Agarwal scored 13 and 17. He had been criticized for his playing technique. However, he was able to redeem himself in Mumbai Test’s first innings, trouncing a scintillating 150 and helping India get a strong total. Then Mayank scored 62 in the second innings. So, it is really difficult for the selector to not consider him for the South Africa series.

Ajaz Patel, the Mumbai-born left-arm spinner, made history in the first innings of the second Test. He was able to bag all 10 wickets in an innings. With a figure of 10 for 119, Ajaz was able to join the club of Anil Kumble and Jim Laker. He is the third bowler to have all 10 wickets. Ajaz has taken 14 wickets in the second Test.

Following the sensational game in Kanpur, a majority of the people believed that New Zealand is not going to make it easy for the Indian team in Mumbai too, However, their horrible batting show in the first innings of the second Test saw New Zealand returning to the pavilion for just 62. It is the lowest they have scored against India.

In the two-Test, spinners Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, and R Ashwin shared 35 wickets. This proved that the spinners in India are formidable in the home ground.

Other than 14 wickets, R Ashwin was able to score 70 runs with the bat. In the meantime, Axar Patel took 9 wickets and also scored 124 runs.

Bottom Line

India’s last defeat in a Test series at home had been against England in 2012-2013. England had emerged victorious in 2-1 in the 4-match series. Following that, India has not lost a single series at home.

As a matter of fact, India has only lost two Test matches in the home ground since their defeat against England in 2012-2013. So, the Indian team is living up to its invincible status in regards to the home Test matches.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here