EVM results to be cross checked, video graphed: Umang Narula

KL Report


With the Lok Sabha election results to be counted and subsequently declared on Friday, the Election Commission has completed its arrangements to be put in place for counting at five counting stations in Kashmir division including Leh and Kargil. Sharing details of counting arrangements with KNS, Umang Narulla, the Chief Electoral Officer said the entire counting process will be video-graphed for the first time in the state besides being monitored strictly by government of India appointed General Election Observers and micro observers attached to each counting table.

“I visited the three counting stations in Islamabad, Srinagar and Baramulla and we have completed all the arrangements for the counting. Not only video-graphy and strict monitoring by the observers but a copy of results delivered by each Electronic Voting Machine will be provided to each election agent present on the counting station,” Narulla informed.  The results of every EVM will be cross checked by the voter forms available on each table, he added.

He said the returning officers have held a detailed meeting with candidates who have contested these elections juts to explain the guidelines set by Election Commission of India to be followed in letter and spirit. “The candidates have been advised to be disciplined and follow the ECI guidelines strictly,” Narulla added. He said that counting of 9633 EVMs will commence in five counting stations at 8.A.M on Friday. He said the process will be monitored by 8 General Observers and each of them will be accompanied by two Micro observers in Kashmir division.

He added that stringent security arrangements have also been made for all the five counting stations. “The Counting as per ECI guidelines will be carried out in the presence of General Observers, AROs and counting agents and after each round, the copy of results would also be provided to candidates,” he informed.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here