Kashmir 2006 sex scandal: Former DIG BSF, former DSP and 3 others awarded 10 years in jail


A special CBI court in Chandigarh on Wednesday awarded 10 years in jail to five persons, including a former DSP and a former DIG BSF, in the 2006 Jammu and Kashmir sex scandal, reported The Times of India.

Those who have been held guilty are Mohammad Ashraf Mir (Ex-DSP, encounter specialist of J&K police), KC Padhi (Ex-DIG BSF), Shabbir Ahmad Laway, Shabbir Ahmad Langoo, and Masood Ahmad Maqsood.

However, businessman Mehrajuddin Malik and the then additional advocate general of Jammu and Kashmir Anil Seth were acquitted by the court.

As per the charge sheet filed by the police, the minor victims were blackmailed and forced into prostitution for Rs 250 to Rs 500. All the accused were convicted under section 376 of Ranbir Penal Code (RPC). However, they have been acquitted under section 5 of Immoral Traffic Prevention Act as the police failed to prove this alternative charge.

There were nine accused in this matter but the main kingpin accused died during the trial. They ran the brothel and they used to supply girls to other accused.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here