LS Polls: Pahalgam records 18.6 % voting till 3 pm


As the polling for the third phase of Lok Sabha elections is underway in state’s Anantnag parliamentary constituency on Tuesday, the Pahalgam assembly segment reordered the highest turnout till 3:00 pm and the overall percentage in the Anantnag district was recorded 11.7%  till 3 pm.

Voters displaying their fingers after they cast their votes in Anantnag town of south Kashmir. KL Image by Shah Hilal

As many as 16099 (18.6 percent) people cast the vote in Pahalgam, 16249 (17.3 percent) in Kokernag, Dooru 11327  (16.9 percent),Shangus  11780 (13.3 percent), Anantnag 2520 (2.9 percent), and Bijbehara 1589 (1.7 percent), till 3:00 pm.

According to reports in 34 T B Shah polling station only 24 voters casts their vote out of 637 voters while in 33 T B Shah only 13 people cast their vote out of 602 total registered voters.

In 35 Muniwara A, only five people cast their votes out of 716 and in 36 Muniwari B polling station only two people cast their votes out of 804 till 2:32 Pm.

The Anantnag district has 529256 electors including 269603 males, 257540 females, 2102 service electors (2091 male and 11 female) and 11 transgender voters. For smooth polling, the ECI has set up 714 polling stations in the district.

The candidates in the fray are Hasnain Masoodi of Jammu Kashmir National Conference, Sofi Yousuf of Bhartiya Janta Party, Ghulam Ahmad Mir of Indian National Congress, Mehbooba Mufti of Jammu Kashmir People’s Democratic Party, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, Ch. Zaffar Ali of Jammu Kashmir People’s Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Gh Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents.

Kokernag Assembly segment has the highest number of 93874 voters (48742 males, 44948 females and 180 service voters) while as Dooru has the lowest 79029 electors, including 40764 males, 37889 females and 374 service voters.

Assembly segment of Bijbehara has 93516 voters (47067 males, 46222 females and 227 service voters), Shangus 89405 voters (45360 males, 43010 females and 1031 service voters), Pahalgam 86735 (44115 males, 42498 females and 121 service voters) and Anantnag 86699 (43555 males, 42973 females and 169 service voters).

Bijbehara assembly segment has the highest number of 46225 female voters whereas Shangus has a total of 1031 service electors which are highest in the district.  (with inputs from Samreena Nazir)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here