Restrictions in five police station areas of downtown Srinagar on Wednesday


Authorities on Tuesday announced restrictions in areas of Srinagar falling under the jurisdiction of five police stations to prevent protests and rallies against the killing of two militants and a civilian.

Restrictions under Section 144 of CrPC will remain in force on Wednesday under the jurisdiction of Police Stations Nowhatta, MR Gunj, Rainawari, Khanyar and Safakadal in district Srinagar tomorrow as a precautionary measure to avoid any untoward incident, said an official.

Two militants, Abu Dujana and Arif Lelhari, were killed in a gunfight with forces in Harkipora area of Pulwama district of south Kashmir earlier today.

A civilian was killed after forces opened fire on protesters marching towards the gunfight site.DXXX


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here