DDC Results: Srinagar Is Multi-Party City With PAGD As Good As Apni Party

SRINAGAR:  Srinagar, the Kashmir capital city has finally emerged as the “political cosmos” of Jammu and Kashmir with everybody having a say. However, independents are the majority. PAGD and Apni

BJP candidate Engineer Aijaz Hussain who won from one of the 14 DDC seats from Srinagar. He defeated Apni Party. Aijaz is flashing a victory sign after being declared a winner on December 22, 2020. KL Image: Bilal Bahadur

On Srinagar district’s 14 District Development Council seats, seven independents have won in Srinagar-I, Qamarwari-I, Qamarwari-II, Harwan-I, II, IV and VI.

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) won Khanmoh-II which is the first-ever win for the right-wing party in the summer capital. The Peoples Alliances for Gupkar Declaration (PAGD) had allocated the seat to Awami National Conference that lost it. In fact ANC did not end up as runner up.

The seat was won by BJP’s  Aijaz Hussain Rather   (823 votes) from Ghulam Hassan Hajam (381 votes) of JK Apni Party.

In fact, Jammu and Kashmir Apni Party won three DDC constituencies in Srinagar including Harwan-V, Khanmoh-I and Srinagar-III.  While Shabir Ahmad Reshi won Harwan-V defeating Ghulam Ahmad Reshi (independent) by 167 votes; Shamima Bano won from Kahmoh-I defeated Fehmida (NC) by 36 votes and Malik Aftab won from Srinagar-III defeating Riyaz Ahmad Ganai of BJP by 174 votes.

The Peoples Democratic Party won Khanmoh-III, National Conference won Harwan -III and Jammu Kashmir Peoples Movement won Srinagar -II.

The NC which had bagged mandates for eight DDC segments by PAGD including six from Harwan along with Khonmoh-I and Srinagar-III lost seven seats. PAGD had allocated one to Khonmoh-III to PDP while JKPM had the mandate of Srinagar-I and Srinagar-II segments.

Apni party President Syed Mohammad Altaf Bukhari along with other party leaders shows the poll symbol allotted to the party for the elections in Srinagar on Thursday, November 12, 2020. KL Image by Bilal Bahadur

The PDP won Khonmoh-III but JKPM won only one out of the two allocated seats.

The Jammu and Kashmir Peoples Conference which was contesting on two seats mandated by PAGD including Qamarwari-I and Qamarwari-II have lost both the seats to independent candidates.

Gupkar Declaration Signatories addressing a joint press conference after meeting at National Conference President Dr Farooq Abdullah’s residence on Thursday, October 15, 2020. KL Image by Bilal Bahadur

In the Srinagar Municipal Corporation by-election for four wards, the National Conference’s Youth President Salman Sagar won from Solina and Soura wards while the Apni Party won Rawalpora seat and the PDP won Islam Yarbal ward.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here