Yawar Demands Special Package for Saffron Town

KL Report


Youth National Conference leader and party candidate for Pampore assembly constituency, Yawar Masoodi, Monday demanded special package for Pampore and 25 worst affected villages on either side of Jehlum from Awantipora to Pampore.

In a statement issued here, he demanded that in Pampore town and Samboora, Patalbagh, Alochibagh, Bijibagh,  Hatiwara, Chandhara, Krenchoo, Konibal, Lalpora, Meej, Lethpora, Barsoo, Awantipora, Larkipora, Padgampora, Dangerpora, Agahanjipora, Goripora, Kanilbagh, Wandakhpora, Hajibal, Banderpora, Reshipora, Mohanvij, Lelhar, Kakapora, Laribal, Wookh, Larew, Qazigund, Sathegund, Marwal, Khadermoh, Kandizal, Nehama villages, the houses that have become inhabitable and are anyway to be reconstructed  because of cracks  be declared as fully damaged and compensation assessed accordingly.

Yawar, the statement said, demanded special package from Union Government for the Saffron Town-the business hub of the area, as “it is next worst affected place after Srinagar and has suffered loss of billions of rupees and shall take a long time to regain its lost glory”.

“He expressed hope that damage assessment exercise would be completed expeditiously, so that the affected people get compensation and start repairs and reconstruction of their residential houses before onset of approaching winter. He has also suggested relocation of some of the flood affected villages, in particular Lelhar, that have been turned into flood basins because of Railway Track,” the statement quoting Yawar said.

He also expressed ‘satisfaction’ over the response to the catastrophe, shown by officers of Police, Revenue Department, CAPD Department and Forest Department, the statement said.

“He has also expressed his satisfaction that steps have been taken for providing 50 kg Free of Cost (FoC) ration per household to the inhabitants of all the villages Pampore, Khrew, Kakapora and Awantipora Circles of CAPD Department and Forest Department proposes to make available 1,00,000 Cft. of timber at Malangpora, Goripora, Mohanvij, Wookh, and Naman forest depots of Shopian Forest Division and Pampore, Awantipora, Barsoo, Lethpora, Samboora, Patalbagh, Konibal, Chandhara forest depots of Lidder Forest Division,” it further said.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here