10000 MW Power being added within 13th FY Plan: Rather

KL Report


Reiterating government’s resolve to make the state self-sufficient in power, Minister for Finance and Ladakh Affairs, Abdul Rahim Rather Tuesday said that various projects have been firmed up to add about 10000 MW power by the end of 13th five year plan. He said Rs.1900 crore are being spent to modernize the power distribution system and to reduce T&D loss under RAPDRP scheme. “Besides, all the un-electrified villages in the state shall be electrified at a cost of Rs.954 crore under RGGVY during the current year,” an official statement quoting Rather said adding that all the damaged transformers shall also be replaced this year.

Addressing a public gathering after laying foundation stone of Rs. 3 crore receiving station at Nowpora in Charar-i-Sharief constituency, the Finance Minister said that setting up of the receiving station will be a big leap forward towards streamlining the power system in the area which will ensure improved and scheduled power supply to about 13 villages in the vicinity. He said that the receiving station, when completed and commissioned will divest a good chunk of load from existing receiving stations of Charar-i-Sharief, Kanira and Nagam thereby benefiting 13 villages including Hafroo, Loolipora, Narpora, Brinjan, Brarigund, Buzgoo, Ledan, Gojipathri, Nilnaag, Baarowa and Badipora.

Rather said that exploitation of state’s huge hydel power potential to the optimum level is the present Government’s top most priority adding that about 10000 MW power is being added during the 12th and 13th five year plan. “Of this, power projects with a total capacity of nearly 900 MW stand commissioned during the last five years which include 450 MW in state sector (approx.) and 450 MW in the central sector (approx.),” Rather added.

He said the power projects commissioned under state sector include 450 MW Baglihar-1, 0.5 MW Bhaderwah ( 3rd unit), 1.5 MW Pahalgam 3rd unit and 1.26 MW Sanjak whereas power projects commissioned in central sector include 120 MW Sewva -2nd , 240 MW Uri-2nd, 45 MW Nimu Bazgo and 44 MW Chutak power house.

“In addition, 3 power projects have also been completed under IPP Mode which includes 7.5 MW Branwar, 10 MW Tangmarg and 15 MW Rajnala Dunandi power projects,” the statement said.

Elaborating further, Rather said implementation of 4 new power projects with a total capacity of 1400 MW has been started which include 850 MW Rattle, 450 MW Baglihar-2nd, 7.5 MW Parnai and 48 MW Lower Kalnai.

The Finance Minister said that improvement of HT/LT has been launched at a massive scale during the current year for over all streamlining of the distribution system adding that Rs.1 crore has been allotted to each district under this scheme for replacing damaged and sub-standard electric poles.

He assured the people that no stone will be left unturned to redress the genuine grievances of the people adding that renewed efforts will be made to give impetus to the developmental and welfare programmes in the coming days all over the state.

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here