Tariq Hamid Karra

Tariq-Hamid-KarraThe 59-year-old urban face of PDP, Tariq Hameed Karra proved a game-changer. An erstwhile state finance minister during the PDP-Congress coalition rule, Karra is one of the founder members of the Peoples Democratic Party elected from the Batamaloo constituency in October 2002 bi-election but lost to NC’s Irfan Shah in 2008. With a smashing victory in 2014 Lok Sabha elections by defeating NC stalwart Dr Farooq Abdullah with 42280 votes, Karra begins his renewed political career with bang.

Muzaffar Hussain Baigh

Muzaffar-Hussain-BeighHailing from Baramulla, this reputed lawyer defeated National Conference’s Sharief-Ud-din Shariq by a margin of 29219 votes. Baigh held Deputy Chief Minister’s office during the PDP-Congress led state government from 2002 to 2008, besides serving as an Advocate General of J&K from 1985 to 1987. Baigh joined PDP when it was founded in 1999. Muzaffar retained Baramulla assembly segment in 2008 elections.

Mehbooba  Mufti

Mehbooba-MuftiBeing the only female candidate from J&K to make it second time to the Lok Sabha, Mehbooba comprehensively defeated National Conference’s Mehboob Beg in South Kashmir’s Islamabad Lok Sabha constituency. With a winning margin of whopping 65417 votes over her rival, Mehbooba has led a sweeping victory of PDP over the entire Kashmir region. Daughter of PDP Patron Mufti Mohammad Sayeed, Mehbooba, who was born on 22 May 1959 in Akhran Nowpora, Islamabad, is currently president of the Jammu & Kashmir Peoples Democratic Party. Last time in Lok Sabha, she represented the Islamabad constituency of Jammu and Kashmir.

Dr Jitendra Singh Rana

Dr-Jitendra-Singh-RanaBJP’s Dr Jitendra Singh Rana was chosen over his party man Dr Nirmal Singh for the constituency where Congressman Ghulam Nabi Azad was thought to have a smooth sail. But BJP didn’t disappoint itself by fielding Dr Rana who has his roots in the Chenab Valley. A specialist in managing diabetes, Dr Rana is a frequent writer with good oratory skills. A staunch RSS man, Dr Rana rode on Modi wave by sweeping a victory with a winning margin of 60,976 votes over Azad, who polled 4,26,393 votes against Singh’s 4,87,369 votes.

Thupsang  Chhewang

Thupsang-ChhewangBorn on 01 September 1947, Thupstan Chhewang is finally BJP’s Ladakh face in Lok Sabha. Chhewang heads Leh based Ladakh Union Territory Front (LUTF). He defeated Tsering Samphel of the Congress and two independents Syed Mohd Kazim and Ghulam Raza. Chhewang’s close win against the independent candidate Ghulam Raza is by a small margin of only 36 votes. With Ladakh seat finally in BJP’s kitty, it was a close fight between two Buddhists as well, Chhewang and another representing Congress.

Jugal Jishore

Jugal-JishoreState president of BJP, Kishore is a matriculate. Born in 1964, he joined politics in 1990.After twelve years of his joining politics, Kishore was elected to J&K Legislative assembly in 2002. Before being chosen as president of BJP state unit, he has remained district general secretary of BJP, rural Jammu. Kishore won by a margin of 2.55 lakh votes in Jammu Lok Sabha constituency. With regard to Jammu region, Kishor once said that if J&K govt want it can stop the new Telangana in making. He also said that BJP wants Jammu and Kashmir to be a single state but the discrimination that Jammu province faces in terms of funds, jobs recruitments and building infrastructure etc compels its people to think of separation.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here