In Chenab Valley, BJP bagged 4, Congress 2

KL Report


Surprisingly, BJP has bagged 4 of 6 seats in the Chenab Valley. The BJP has consolidated the entire Hindu vote bank and has taken a lead. What if Amit Shah’s mantras didn’t work in Srinagar for them but in Chenab Valley they actually did wonders.

In Doda, Shakti Raj representing BJP defeated INC’s Abdul Majid Wani defeated by 4040 votes. Wani was the sitting MLA in Doda. It is said that Wani has tasted the dust because of his poor performance in his tenure as a minister.

Shakti, though an outsider in Doda, has spent a lot of capital on his campaigning and it is he who helped BJP to earn these votes in the area. In past, BJP would never cross 5,000 votes in the area. But the last parliamentary win had boosted BJP morale to maximise their votes share from Ramban, Bhaderwah and Kishtwar.

In Ramban, BJP ‘s Neelam Kumar Langeh has emerged as a winner and has defeated NC’s Dr. Chaman Lal by a margin of 5364 votes.

Kumar of BJP bagged 25349 votes and NC’s Dr Chaman Lal secured 19985 votes.

In Kishtwar, BJP’s Sunil Kumar Sharma defeated NC’s Sajjad Ahmed Kitchloo by a margin of 2852 votes. Sharma seems to have played the card of communal polarisation well and defeated the sitting NC MLA. The muslim population in the area had a grudge that after the riots Kitchloo came out clean but did not the locals in any way.

In Bhaderwah, BJP’s Daleep Singh has defeated INC’s Mohammed Sharief Niaz by 1496 votes. Bhaderwah is the home constituency of Ghulam Nabi Azad, the Congress stalward and Niaz is his cousin.

The votes of Village Defence Committees are said to have played its part as the Election Commission of India this time had made it clear that all the locals guarding the polling booths would positively cast their votes. It makes at least 24,000 votes and the entire number would have gone to BJP’s kitty.

Banihal, INC’s Vikar Rasool Wani, beats the bureaucrat turned politician Bashir Ahmed Runyal, representing PDP by a margin of 4349 votes.

Wani bagged 17671 votes while as Runyal bagged 13322 votes.

Meanwhile INC retained Inderwal. Ghulam Mohammed Saroori beats BJP’s Tariq Hussain Keen by a margin of 12370 votes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here