Kashmir Chamber Elects Its First Post-2019 Leadership, Javid Tenga Is New President

SRINAGAR: Kashmir Chamber of Commerce and Industry (KCCI), the region’s oldest trade body elected its new body. Javid Ahmad Bhat (Tenga) is Chamber’s new president. This was the first election to the trade body after August 2019, when Article 370 was read down and Jammu and Kashmir was converted into two Union territories.

Kashmir Chamber of Commerce and Industry elected its new leadership on February 22, 2023.

According to a statement issued by the KCCI, its 85th annual general meeting was held today at 11.30 AM at the Chamber Office on Residency Road in Srinagar. In compliance with the J&K High Court’s directives, the annual general meeting’s activities were overseen by the assistant commissioner of revenue, several revenue department officials, and certain members of the election committee.

“The election committee established for the purpose of holding the elections to the 21-member Executive Committee declared the results of the elections for the executive committee of KCC&I. The executive committee and office holders were chosen from the following, it stated.

The candidates for president were Javid Ahmad Bhat (Tenga), senior vice president Ashaq Hussain Shangloo, junior vice president Fayaz Ahmad Punjabi, secretary general Faiz Ahmad Bakshi, joint secretary general Umar Nazir Tibetbaqal, and treasurer Zubair Mahajan.

Amir Manzoor, Ashfaq Ahmad Zahgeer, Farooq Ahmad Kuthoo, Ghulam Nabi Bhat, Altaf Ahmad Tramboo, Jagmohan Singh Raina, Mohammad Lateef Bhat, Siah Mohammad Ibrahim, Suhail Jan, Touseef Ahmad Bhat, Feroz Ahmad Bisati, Shoukat Khan, and Zahoor Hussain Alamgir are the other members of the executive committee.

The last election to the trade body took place in October 2018. Since then Sheikh Ashiq was heading the trade body.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here