SRINAGAR: A high-level committee on Friday gave its go-ahead for the induction of several local police officers from Jammu & Kashmir into the coveted Indian Police Service (IPS), according to undisclosed sources.

Sources told the news agency KNO that the Selection Committee Meeting (SCM) for the promotion of local officers from Jammu & Kashmir to the IPS took place at 3:00 pm in New Delhi.

The meeting was attended by representatives from the Union Public Service Commission, Union Home Ministry, and J&K government. J&K’s Chief Secretary Arun Kumar Mehta, Director General of Police Dilbagh Singh, and Home Secretary Raj Kumar Goyal also attended the meeting.

According to sources, the panel cleared Maqsood-ul-Zaman, Mubassir Latifi, Shiv Kumar Sharma, Suhail Munawar Mir, Rashmi Wazir, Rajeshwar Singh, Sandeep Wazir, Anita Sharma, Sameer Rekhi, Jatinder Singh Johar, Swarn Singh Kotwal, Zahid Nasim Manhas, Dr. Koshal Kumar Sharma, Ashok Kumar, Showkat Ahmed Dar, Altaf Ahmed Shah, Bakar Hussain Samoon, Firdous Iqbal, Aijaz Ahmad Bhat, Ranjit Singh Samyal, Mohd Yaseen Kichloo, Rajinder Kumar Gupta, Rajesh Kumar Sharma, Sanjeev Kumar Khajoria, Rajesh Bali, Zubair Ahmed Khan, Sanjay Kumar Kotwal, Mumtaz Ahmed, and Mohd Aslam.

Sources said that two of them are unlikely to opt for induction.

Furthermore, the committee also cleared two retired police officers- Anil Magotra and Parshotam Kumar Sharma- for promotion in IPS.

Additionally, sources disclosed that the selection committee has given its opinion on the promotion of one local officer in a sealed cover due to an inquiry pending against him—(KNO).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here