SRINAGAR: The fleet of e-buses that LG Manoj Sinha formally introduced to Srinagar last week will ply on 14 routes with a fixed schedule after the charging facilities come up. Officials said only 49 buses of the fleet will be plying till the charging facility comes up at two more places.

“We have a charging facility at Batwara where we can charge 32 buses,” one official said. “We need one more charging facility at Batamaloo and another at Humhama and maybe more.” The creation of charging facilities has already been outsourced and is being implemented.

Currently, 75 e-buses are available and 25 more are being added. These buses are expected to change the mass transport system that has not seen any intervention in the last many years. This bus fleet will be connecting Srinagar with Budgam as well. There is a possibility of a service to Ganderbal later.

The high-end buses are equipped with cutting-edge features like ultra-high-definition dash cameras, convenient stop push buttons, and facilities for individuals with disabilities. These red coloured buses are part of the Smart City project. These are zero-emission, eco-friendly electric buses. Unlike private transport, these buses will stop at designated bus stops only. An application that can be downloaded on smartphones can help commuters to track bus locations and estimated arrival times.

A fleet of 75 E Buses is now running in Srinagar and Outskirts. (KL Image: Shuaib Wani)

Besides, these buses have an inbuilt CCTV surveillance system, which aims to reduce fears of crime and unlawful behaviour. The elevators and ramps will help wheelchair-borne and elderly to board the bus.

“The idea is that you should get one bus on your stop after every 25 minutes,” one official said. “This, however, will take a bit of time.”

Here is the list of 14 routes on which these buses would be playing. These buses will follow the route and return from the same route. Officials, however, said that there is a possibility of the routes changing in coming days and the commuters must take note of the destinations that the buses will flash on its board in front and rare.

Route 1: TRC to Pandach via Sangarrnall, Fountain Crossing, Bishember Nagar, Napura, Rainawari, Saida Kadal, Nigeen. Hazratbal University, Habak Crossing, Zakura and Pandach.

Route 2: TRC to Harwan via Dalgate, Badyari Chowk, Nehru Park. Chashma Shahi, Brein, Nishat, Shalimar, Harwan.

Route 3A: Panta Chowk to TRC

Route 3B: TRC to Soura via Sangarmall, Munawarabad, Nowhata, Gojwara, Hawai, Alamgari Bazar, Mill Stop, Nowshera, Soura.

Route 5: Pantha Chowk to Railway Station

Route 5B: Chadoora to Rambagh (Era Complex) via Karlpora, Muchowa, Bagh-e-Mehtab, Chanapora, Natipora, and Ram Bagh.

Route 6A: Hazratbal to Batamaloo Road via Nigeen, Rainawari, Khanyar, Babademb, Fatah Kadal, Syed Mansoor Chowk, and Batamloo.

Route 6B: Batamaloo to Budgam via Batamaloo, Jehangir Chowk, Rambagh, Parraypora, Hyderpora, Humhama, Ompora, and Budgam.

Route 7: Batamaloo to Airport via Jehangir Chowk, Rambagh, Parraypora, Hyderpora, Humhama, and Airport.

Route 8: Rangreth to Rambagh via Rawalpora, Sanat Nagar, Baghat Barzulla, and Rambagh.

Route 9 (Circular Route): Batamaloo, Bemina Byepass, Parimpora, Qamarwari, Cement Bridge, Noor Bagh, Sakidafar, Rajouri Kadal, Bohri Kadal, Munawarabad, M A Road, Jehangir Chowk, and Batamaloo.

Route 10: TRC to Budgam Via Mominabad, Bemina Bypass, Khomeini Chowk, Mirgund, DC Office, and Budgam Bus Stand.

Route 11: Batamaloo to Hazratbal via Doodh Ganga Road, Chotta Bazar, Syed Mansoor Chowk, Nai Sadak, Nawakadal, Rajouri Kadal, Gojwara, Hawal, Alamgari Bazar, Mill Stop, Botakadal, Lal Bazar, Saderabal and Hazratbal University.

Route 12A:  Hawal Jamia Masjid, Munawarabad, TRC, Abdullah Bridge, Raj Bagh, Wazir Bagh, Jehangir Chowk, Batamaloo, Qamarwari. Noor Bagh, Eidgah, Aali Masjid, Hawal, Alamgari Bazar, Nowshera, and Soura.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here