Academy Awards Excellence In Theatre, Painting

KL Report


J&K Academy of Art, Culture & Languages Thursday awarded theater persons and budding artists for display of their talent in the Annual Theatre Festival and the Children’s On the Spot Painting Competition held earlier here.

As per a statement the awards were presented by Atal Dulloo, Principal Secretary to Government, Tourism & Culture. Secretary Academy, Khalid Bashir Ahmad, Director Doordarshan Kendra, Jammu, Shabir Mujahid, prominent theatre persons, writers and lovers of performing and fine art were present.

The pass outs of the 3-year Calligraphy Course-2012-13 conducted by the Academy were also presented certificates.

The Theatre Festival was held from June 3 to 11, 2013 while the Children’s On the Spot Painting Competition was held on August 29, 2013.

Speaking on the occasion, Atal Dulloo described events like theater festival and painting competition as significant efforts towards the development and promotion of performing and fine art in the state. He said such competitions provide an opportunity to participants to hone their talent and perform before a large audience. He said that the government was according due priority to the development of art, culture and literature and referred to the activities undertaken by the Academy in these sectors.

Dulloo congratulated the award winning performers and young artists for their work and hoped that the honour would encourage them to perform better in future. He appreciated the Academy for holding important cultural events and honouring the local talent in different fields.

Director Doordarshan Kendra, Jammu, Shabir Mujahid also spoke on the occssion.

In his address, Khalid Bashir Ahmad said that the Theatre Festival in Kashmir was revived after a gap of four years and received appreciation from local theatre fraternity. He said by holding the Festival the performing artists get an opportunity to harness and exhibit their talent. The activity also helps in the promotion of this important art form. He said 19 plays were received and after scrutiny by experts 8 were selected for the festival. The theatre groups came from different parts of the Valley, he added.

Khalid said that in the Children’s On the Spot Painting Competition, 206 students of 23 private and government schools participated. The theme for the Amateur Group was Environment & Pollution while the Senior Group was given a free choice. He said panels of experts in both events recommended participating artists and theatre groups for awards in different categories.

In the Annual Theatre Festival, Farooq Sheikh lifted the Best Actor (Male) Award for his role as Karim Din in the play Rath Vandai Malinyo while Shafia won the Best Actor (Female) Award for her performance as Gopali and Zohra in the same play. Irfan Shah and Hilal Shah jointly won the Best Child Artist Award for their roles as Lokut Jin and Boad Jin in Nyay. The Best Director Award was won by Ayash Arif for Rath Vandai Malinyo and the 2nd Best Director Award was lifted by Reshi Rashid for Phir Thur.

The Best Production Award was given to Rath Vandai Malinyo staged by Kalidas Theatre, Srinagar, the 2nd Best Production Award went to Phir Thur presented by Roshan Art Centre, Pinjoora Tangmarg. The Best Costume Award went to Kalidas Theatre for Rath Vandai Malinyo even as the 2nd Best Costume Award was won by Dilshad Cultural Forum for Pagah Sholi Duniyah. The Best Music Award was given to Roshan Art Centre for Phir Thur and the 2nd Best Music Award to Wahab Dramatic Club, Hajin for Nyay. The Best Lighting Award was won by Roshan Art Centre for Phir Thur.

Shamima Khushbu, Arshida Bano, Sana Ullah Khan, Rajinde Tickoo and Khadim Wali won Certificates of Merit for acting.

In the Amateur Group of the Children’s On the Spot Painting Competition, the first prize was given to Badrun Nisa Bhat of Green valley Educational Institute, Bachhpora, the second prize to of Burn Hall School, Srinagar and the third prize to Saima Hussain of Presentation Convent, Srinagar.

In the Senior Group, Falak Tareen of Mallinson Girls School, Srinagar bagged the first prize, Syed Hurrain Jeelani of Linton Hall School, Raj Bagh the second prize and Divya Kour of Presentation Convent School, Raj Bagh the third prize. The consolation prize went to Muqqadas Bhat of Lawrence Vidya Bhavan, Raj Bagh, Mohammad Mussadiq of Tiny Harts School, Srinagar and Ishrat Gul of Navodaya Vidyalaya, Khanpora Budgam.

The pass outs of the 3-year Calligraphy Course-2012-13 who were given certificates include Javaid Ahmad Kumar (First Position), Farah Jan (Second Position), Asia Syed (Third Position) and Kausar Shafi Shah.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here