BJP, PDP candidates elected unopposed; rest of results to be declared on March 2 for LC election

KL Report


The BJP and PDP parties registered a combined victory in the Jammu and Kashmir legislative council election. Five candidates of the combine were elected unopposed in the election.

Muhammad Ramzaan, Secretary J&K Legislative assembly, confirmed the result of these two parties who contested elections joined. The result was announced by him late Wednesday.

The elected candidates are BJP’s Chering Dorjay and Sofi Yusuf, while the three PDP candidates who won are Firdous Tak, Yasir Reshi and Inayat Ali.

Meanwhile the voting for six seats in which 10 candidates of the PDP, the BJP and the National Conference are in the fray will take place on March 2.

The Congress has decided to support National Conference candidates and has hence not fielded any candidate.

The 87-member state legislative Assembly forms the electoral college for the legislative council which is the upper house of Jammu and Kashmir’s bicameral legislature. In the 36-member Legislative Council, 11 seats each are reserved for Kashmir and Jammu regions while eight are filled through nomination.

While as the six other seats, four are reserved for Panchayats and two for Urban Local Bodies.

Pertinently in the recently held assembly elections presented a fractured mandate in which PDP got 28 seats, BJP 25, National Conference 15, Congress 12 and other seven candidates won rest of the seven seats in the state legislative Assembly.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here