Dr Farooq Lambasts BJP For Vitiating Atmosphere Ahead Of Elections


JAMMU: National Conference President Dr Farooq Abdullah on Thursday expressed concern over polarizing atmosphere for political gains, especially in the run up to elections, saying this menace has to be fought to make a strong and united India.

Follow Us OnG-News | Whatsapp

“Atmosphere of communal divide and generating passions is not a conducive trend in politics,” Dr Farooq Abdullah said while addressing the party functionaries and workers at Sher-i-Kashmir Bhavan, Jammu here.

Today they are playing communal politics in view of the elections in Uttar Pradesh, he said that hate is being spread here as well by those who just chant ‘Jammu, Jammu, Jammu, Jammu’.

“Jammu and Kashmir will remain a singular entity. Jammu is the gateway to Kashmir and Valley as a gateway to Ladakh. Attempts of sowing hate in Jammu have been made since 1947 but the perpetrators will not succeed. Those trying to generate a wedge will lead to balkanization of the country,” he added.

He said if the ray of secularism from J&K generated a ray of hope during horrendous times decades ago there is no reason why today’s challenges can’t be met now. He exhorted the cadre to renew their pledge of strengthening cherished philosophy of secularism that guided the destiny of the people in this part of the country under the banner of National Conference over the decades. He also exhorted the cadre to assert their designated role in strengthening the bonds of harmony, amity and brotherhood, bequeathed by Sher-e-Kashmir Sheikh Mohammed Abdullah, who rejected two nation theory during the most difficult phase of the history.

The NC President exhorted the workers to meet the challenge and fight the communal forces. The National Conference has a chequered history of fostering brotherhood and foiling the divisive forces, he said.

Referring to soaring prices of essentials and the fuel, Dr Farooq Abdullah reminded the Prime Minister of his tirade against fuel prices when they were in the opposition. Now that the prices are touching skies, nothing is being done, as a result of which poor people stand pushed to the wall. He said the hike in fuel prices has escalated rates of all the essentials and the brunt is being borne by the poor.

Dr Abdullah lashed out at the Centre for muzzling the media, saying fear psychosis has been created as a result of which the media persons are fearful of objective reporting. He said the day is not far when the media will be in a position to report fearlessly.

National Conference General Secretary  Ali Mohammed Sagar, Additional General Secretary Dr Sheikh Mustaffa Kamal, Provincial President Rattan Lal Gupta, senior leader Ajay Kumar Sadhotra, were among those who addressed the workers.

Prominent among those present on the occasion included Mushtaq Ahmed Shah Bukhari, Khalid Najeeb Suharawardhy, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed, Ajaz Jan, Mushtaq Guroo, Tanveer Kichloo, Sajjad Shaheen, Qazi Jalal Ud Din, Abdul Gani Malik, Babu Rampaul, Dr. Chaman Lal Bhagat, Jagjeevan Lal, Jugal Mahajan, Issar Khan, Bimla Luthra, Bushan Lal Bhat, Master Noor Hussain, Deepender Kour, Mohd Iqbal Bhat, Satwant Kour Dogra, Vijay Laxami Dutta, Vijay Lochan, Abdul Gani Teli, Dr. Gagan Bhagat, Swaran Latta, Mohinder Singh, Pardeep Bali,Pyare Lal Sharma, Shamim Begum, Chander Mohan Sharma, Anil Dhar, Rajesh Bakashi, S.S Bunty, Ch. Rehmat Ali, Tarseem Khullar, Dilshad Malik, Rita Gupta, Daljeet Sharma, Rashida Begum, G.H Malik,Zaffarullah Rather, Ch. Saleem,Shama Akhter, Waris Gill, Bharti Sharma, Qasim Din Bania, Ch. Riaz Ahmed, Ashok Attri, Nar Singh, M.K Yogi,Sheikh Mohd Shafi, Dr. Gafoor,Iftkhair Choudhary, Ravi Dogra, Ch. Riaz Ahmed Bhaderwahi,Ajeet Kumar Sharma, K.K Bakashi, Naresh Bittu, Rohit Bali, Sham Nariyan Mehta, Ram Parshotam, Sunil Verma, Romy Khajuria, Ashok Dogra, S.Sandeep Singh, S. Gurman Singh, Farooq Mughal,Suresh Kotwal,Riaz Malik, Shahzad Malik, Rakesh Singh Raka, Tirath Kumar, Shashi, Devender Mehta, Sain Dass, S. Tejinder Singh, Pankaj Kohli, Nitish Gowsami, Tanveer Babzada, Zamir Quershi, Munzail Malik, Som Raj Taroch, Gourav Kapoor, Ashanand, Jatin Bhat, Mohd Aslam, Amersh Sharma, Mahesh Bakashi, Harshwardan,Nizra Bibi, Mohinder Kumar Rana, Manhor Lal Bhagat and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here