Four Kashmir Districts Among 130 Red Zones In India


Union health ministry has designated four districts in Jammu and Kashmir as red zones after the lockdown ends on May 3, and asked states and local bodies to demarcate containment areas and buffer zones for strict monitoring of movement.

In a letter to chief secretaries of all states and union territories, Union health secretary Preeti Sudan gave a list of 130 red zones, 284 orange zones and 319 green zones at the district level across the country for containment operations.

In Red Zone

“In the spirit of effective containment, it is advisable to err on the side of caution. Further, a buffer zone around the containment zone has to be demarcated,” Sudan added.

“All States are accordingly requested to delineate the containment zones and buffer zones in the identified red and orange zone districts and notify the same,” Sudan said.

As per the order four districts which have been declared as Red Zones include Srinagar, Bandipora, Anantnag and Shopian. These districts have been classified as hotspots/red zones based on the cumulative cases reported and doubling rate.

Coronavirus: What Happens In A Red Zone?

As per the order, 12 districts have been classified as orange zones which include Baramulla, Kupwara, Ganderbal, Jammu, Udhampur, Kulgam, Budgam, Samba, Kathua, Rajouri, Ramban and Reasi while four districts have been classified as Green Zones which include Pulwama, Kishtwar, Doda and Poonch.

While in urban districts, containment zones will be demarcated on the basis of a residential colony, mohallas, municipal wards, police-station area, municipal zones, or towns, in rural areas these zones will be based on villages, clusters of villages, gram panchayats, among others, Sudan said in the letter.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here