Govt revokes PSA against 14 detainees, released


The Jammu and Kashmir administration on Monday revoked the Public Safety Act (PSA) against 14 persons who were detained in August of last year, ahead of the scrapping of special status for J&K. All of these 14 individuals have now been released from Central Jail, reported India Today.

The Home Department decided to revoke the PSA against these persons who were lodged in Central Jail Srinagar. They have been identified as Mudasir Fayaz Mir alias Aqib, Fayaz Ahmad Batkoo, Abid Hussain Sheikh, Parvaiz Ahmad Bhat, Ishfaq Ahmad Dar, Dawood Ahmad Khan, Junaid Ahmad Khan, Mehrajuddin Dentoo, Mohammad Musaib Kanwaloo, Mohammad Iqbal Gorsi, Shahid Farooq Sofi, Ghulam Mohiuddin Pandit, Nazaraf Hussain Khatana and Suheel Ahmad Shagoo.

On January 10 of this year, PSA against 26 people was revoked and they were later released from different jails, including 10 from Central Jail in Srinagar. This is the highest number of PSA revocations since then.

Authorities also revoked PSA against former J&K chief minister Dr Farooq Abdullah on March 13 and that against his son and former CM Omar Abdullah on March 24. Both of these leaders were released from custody in the wake of the revocation.

Released Not Freed

However, there are presently over 380 people who are under detention in different jails across Jammu and Kashmir under PSA. They include J&K Bar Association President Mian Abdul Qayoom and Traders’ Association President Yaseen Khan among others, said the report.

Besides these, several political leaders, including former CM and Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) chief Mehbooba Mufti, PDP leaders Naeem Akhtar, Sartaj Madni, Peer Mansoor, NC leaders Ali Mohammad Sagar and Hial Lone are still in detention. Former IAS officer and head of Jammu and Kashmir Peoples’ Movement, Dr Shah Faisal has also been held under the scope of the PSA, reported India Today.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here