Govt withdraws,downgrades security of 173 persons including Shah Faesal


In a major step on Wednesday, the Government of Jammu and Kashmir downgraded and withdrew the security of 18 Hurriyat leaders in the state.

According to the spokesperson of the Home Department, it was felt that providing security to these separatist leaders is a wastage of scarce state resources which could be better utilised elsewhere, said an official statement said.

He said among the leaders whose security has been downgraded and withdrawn are Syed Ali Geelani, Aga Syed Mosvi, Maulvi Abbas Ansari,  Muhammad Yaseen Malik, Saleem Geelani, Shahid ul Islam, Zaffar Akbar Bhat, Nayeem Ahmed Khan, Mukhtar Ahmad Waza, Farooq Ahmed Kichloo, Masroor Abbas Ansari, Aga Syed Abul Hussain, Abdul Gani Shah and Mohd Musadiq Bhat.

This is, in addition, the four persons whose security was withdrawn on Sunday.

In addition, the security of 155 political persons and activists, who did not require the security provided to them based on their threat assessment and their activities, was also withdrawn. This includes Shah Faesal, who resigned from the IAS and Wahid Parray.

Through this, over 1000 police personnel and over 100 vehicles are freed to do regular police work, said an official spokesman.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here