Imran Khan’s PTI Retains Muzaffarabad, New Leader Elected

SRINAGAR: Imran Khan, who was ousted as Prime Minister of Pakistan, has retained the Muzaffarabad leadership as its member Sardar Tanveer Ilyas was elected the Pakistan administrated territory’s prime minister. Ilyas succeded Sardar Abdul Qayyum Niazi who lost the confidence of the house within days after the crisis in Islamabad.

Sardar Tanvir Iliyas Khan

Niazi resigned after 25 PTI members in the Muzaffarabad legislature moved a resolution for a vote of no-confidence for his “failure to implement the party’s manifesto and ensure good governance”. On Monday when the house met to elect the new leader, three members were absent.

Opposition comprising 12 members from PPP and seven from PML-N walked out minutes ahead of the voting. In Muzaffarabad’s 53-member House, PTI has 32 seats.

Ilyas is a businessman who owns the Centaurus Mall in Islamabad. He was earlier a special assistant to Punjab Chief Minister on trade and investment. He was a minister in Niazi’s cabinet.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here