LS Polls: Noorabad records highest turnout till 3 pm


Noorabad assembly segment of south Kashmir recorded the highest voter turnout of 17.8 per cent till 3 PM during the ongoing fourth phase of Lok Sabha polls.

Paramilitary forces manning the polling booth at Qaimoh area of Kulgam district. Kl Image

As many as 13599 (17.8 per cent) people cast the vote in Noorabad, 13567 (14. 9 per cent) in Devsar, Kulgam 1491 (1. 5 per cent) and Homeshalibugh  712 (0.9 per cent), till 3:00 pm.

According to officials, 8.5 per cent overall polling was recorded in Kulgam district till 3 pm.

The candidates in the fray are Hasnain Masoodi of Jammu Kashmir National Conference, Sofi Yousuf of Bhartiya Janta Party, Ghulam Ahmad Mir of Indian National Congress, Mehbooba Mufti of Jammu Kashmir People’s Democratic Party, Nisar Ahmad Wani of Jammu & Kashmir National Panthers Party, Ch. Zaffar Ali of Jammu Kashmir People’s Conference, Sanjay Kumar Dhar of Manav Adhikar Party, Surinder Singh of Pragatisheel Samajwadi Party (Lohia) and Imtiyaz Ahmad Rather, Ridwana Sanam, Riyaz Ahmad Bhat, Zubair Masoodi, Shams Khwaja, Ali Mohammad Wani, Ghulam Mohammad Wani, Kyasir Ahmed Sheikh, Manzoor Ahmad Khan and Mirza Sajad Hussain Beigh, all independents.

The polling began at 7 a.m. and will end at 4 pm for the second phase of the three-phase elections for Anantnag Lok Sabha seat.

Witness said that the heavy deployment of Central Armed Police Force (CAPF) and state police has been made to secure the polling stations and provide safety to the voters.

Kulgam Assembly segment has the highest number of 98,298 voters (51,051 males, 46,818 females, 455 service voters and 4 transgender voters) while as Noorabad has the lowest 77,171 electors, including 40,093 males, 36,886 females, 188 service voters and 4 transgender voters.

Assembly segment of Devsar has 91288 voters (47467 males, 43324 females, 492 service voters and five transgender voters), and HS Bugh segment has 78669 voters (40996 males, 37576 females and 127 service voters).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here