NC urges Governor to allow Jammu delegation to meet Farooq Abdullah, Omar


Jammu and Kashmir National Conference today urged Governor Satya Pal Malik to allow a delegation of the senior party leaders from Jammu to meet the party president Dr Farooq Abdullah and the Vice President  Omar Abdullah, who are currently under detention in Srinagar.

NC leaders meeting in Jammu

The party will chalk out the future course of action after meeting the top leadership.

At an emergent meeting at Sher-e-Kashmir Bhavan here, convened soon after removal of restrictions on the movement of senior leaders based in Jammu, the party also took a detailed review of the obtaining political situation in the State.

Provincial President Devender Singh Rana presided the meeting. The senior functionaries, including the district presidents of the Jammu region and office bearers of the provincial committee, attended the meeting.

In a resolution, unanimously adopted at the meeting, the National Conference leaders pledged to strengthen bonds of communal harmony, unity, togetherness and inclusive democratic polity—a long cherished agenda set for the State by Sher-e-Kashmir Sheikh Mohammad Abdullah. It also pledged to strive for strengthening the bonds of unity so that the pristine glory of Jammu and Kashmir is restored. The meeting placed on record the role played by National Conference during most testing times in maintaining and sustaining democratic and secular ethos of the State and pledged to work to safeguard the interests of the people of the State so that they are not deprived of the rights and privileges enjoyed by them.

While reiterating that dissent was core of the democracy, National Conference leaders expressed concern over the situation in the wake of unfortunate political developments during the past two months. It sought immediate release of all the political leaders, withdrawing restrictions on the free movement and expression of the people and ensuring liberty by restoring democracy.

The party leaders expressed anguish over continued detention of the senior leaders including Dr Farooq Abdullah and Vice President  Omar Abdullah, as also the other top leaders of the mainstream political parties.

The resolution strongly condemned the detention of Dr Farooq Abdullah, a sitting MP and five times Chief Minister besides former Union Minister under PSA, notwithstanding his immense and crucial role in the democratic polity of the country and contribution in steering the State to peace, progress and development, braving all odds.

Besides former ministers  Ajay Kumar Sadhotra,  Surjeet Singh Slathia and  Sajjad Ahmed Kichloo, the meeting was attended by Rattan Lal Gupta, Mushtaq Ahmed Shah Bukhari, Rachpal Singh, Sheikh Bashir Ahmed, Th. Kashmira Singh, Qazi Jalal Ud Din, Babu Rampal, Brij Mohan Sharma, T. S Wazir, Vijay Bakaya, Haji Mohd Hussain, Dr Chaman Lal Bhagat, Master Noor Hussain, Jugal Mahajan, Gurdeep Singh Sasan, Bimla Luthra,Pardeep Bali,Vijay Laxami Dutta, Satwant Kour Dogra, Swarn Latta, Ch. Haroon, Dr. Gagan Bhagat, Dharamveer Singh Jamwal,  Anil Dhar, S.S Bunty, Vipan Pal Sharma, Abdul Gani Teli, Vijay Lochan, Dr Mehboob Iqbal, Dr. Shamshad Shan, MohinderSingh, Zaffarullah Rather, Muzaffar Khan, Shafayat Ahmed Khan, Sunil Verma, Dilshad Malik, Rita Gupta, Bharti Sharma, Dr Reyaz Bhaderwahi, Ch Rehmat Ali, Nar Singh, Sunil Verma, G.H Malik, Iftkhair Choudhary, S. Parvinder Singh, S. Dharshan Singh Azad, Ram Prashotam, Ch. Arshad, S Sucha Singh, Ajeet Kumar Sharma, Rajesh Bakashi, Vijay Khajuria, Rashida Begum, Raj Kapoor, Naresh Bittu, Arif Mir, Abid Magrey, Reyaz Malik, Som Raj Taroh, Rohit Bali, S. Tejinder Singh, Aman Chemma, Nitish Gowsami, Abey Bakaya, Devi Dayal Yogi, M. K Yogi, Bal Krishan, Devender Mehta, Shabeer, Mahesh Bakashi, Zeeshan Rana and others, said the party statement.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here