Mian Abdul Qayoom reelected Bar president, 19th time

SRINAGAR: In the just concluded elections of the Kashmir Bar Association, Mian Abdul Qayoom was re-elected as its president. Nazir Ahmad Ronga ended up as the runner up for the post of the president. He lost by 200 plus votes, a senior bar member said.

Mian Abdul Qayoom Photo: Bilal Bahadur

Others who were elected to the new leadership set up include Mushtaq Ahmad Dar as Vice President who defeated Mohammad Ashraf Bhat. Sameer Wani won the election as Treasurer by defeating Zahoor Ahmad Bhat. Ghulam Nabi Shaheen became General Secretary by defeating Shabir Ahmadf Bhat.

The Association has more than 700 members and most of them reportedly cast their vote.

Mian Qayoom was elected as the president of the bar for the nineteenth time. The term for bar leadership is a year. He was in news recently after he was repeatedly summoned by the NIA for investigations that led to strike of the courts in Kashmir. Eventually, in the second sitting he was given a clean chit.

“He has been leading the bar even before militancy,” one senior bar member said. “But he refused to be elected for many years between 1996 and 2003.”

I agree to the Terms and Conditions of Kashmir Life


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here