NC Announces Constituency Incharges, Nasir Aslam Wani Goes Home

by Yawar Hussain

SRINAGAR: The Jammu and Kashmir National Conference Wednesday announced in-charge leaders of assembly constituencies in Kashmir indicating that the leaders would eventually contest elections from these areas.

NC leader Nasir Aslam Sogami

While all leaders have been assigned the constituencies they represented over the years, Nasir Aslam Wani, the Provincial President Kashmir has shifted from Srinagar to Kupwara his ancestral district.

Wani, who lost the 2014 elections from erstwhile Amira Kadal constituency in Srinagar, was the lawmaker from the same area in 2008.

His shifting to Kupwara assembly segment also comes in the backdrop of the constituency being divided into two constituencies in the delimitation exercise.

The delimitation had divided the Kupwara into Kupwara and Trehgam while adding areas from Lolab to the former constituency.

With addition of Lolab’s areas to Kupwara, reports had been rife that Wani might shift as he originally belongs to Sogam village in the Lolab area.

The list includes Mushtaq Guroo, NC President Farooq Abdullah’s Political Secretary, who has been made in-charge of Chanapora constituency, which was earlier called Amira Kadal and represented by Wani.

National Conference Chief Spokesperson has been made in charge of Zadibal constituency where from party’s Peer Afaq had contested last time around.

Peer Mohammad Hussain and Mohammed Khalil Bandh have been given the charge of their respective constituencies which they represented as party leaders in Peoples Democratic Party.

NC General Secretary Ali Mohammad Sagar’s son and youth NC President Salman Sagar has been given charge of Hazratbal while his father would be in charge of Khanyar.

The nominations also come in the backdrop of NC Provincial Kashmir division passing a resolution demanding that the party would contest all 90 seats in a snub to the Peoples Alliance for Gupkar Declaration stance of a joint contest.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here